Home » House of Representatives set to Return Nigeria to Parliamentary System

House of Representatives set to Return Nigeria to Parliamentary System

by Israel Akintunji
37 Reps renounce APC, defects to PDP

Members of the House of Representatives have started canvassing for the return of Nigeria from the Presidential to Parliamentary system of government.

Most of the agitators are said to be mainly PDP lawmakers, Daily Trust reports

Briefing newsmen at the National Assembly in Abuja on Thursday, spokesmen of the group, Kingsley Chinda (PDP, Rivers) and Nicholas Ossai (PDP, Delta), said the parliamentary system, as opposed to the presidential system, suits Nigeria because it is more economic friendly, cost effective and largely efficient in the conduct of government business.

Rising from “Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (Alteration) Bill, 2018,” the lawmakers lamented that whereas, countries under the parliamentary system were prospering, the presidential system has “reduced Nigeria to the poverty capital of the world.”

“We are 71 bi-partisan members of the House of Representatives, who feel that the parliamentary system of government promulgated by the Lyttleton Constitution of 1954 is the best for Nigeria since the presidential system has reduced us to the poverty capital of the world.

Read Also: Sanwo-Olu Warns Jimi Agbaje: “Don’t instigate ethnic tensions between the Yoruba and the Igbo.”

“Our position in this legislation clearly points to compelling advantages of parliamentary system of government, such as economic growth and development, as well as inherent efficiency in the conduct of government business.

“Studies have shown that countries under the presidential regimes consistently produce lower output, volatile inflation and greater income inequality relative to those under parliamentary system,” the group said.

The bill would require the presidential assent in order to become binding in Nigeria if eventually passed at the legislative house.

members of the group include; Aside Ossai, Abdulsamad Dasuki (PDP, Sokoto), Boma Goodhead (PDP, Rivers), Timothy Golu (PDP, Plateau), Gabriel Onyenwife (PDP, Anambra), Sergius Ogun (PDP, Edo), Emeka Ujam (PDP, Enugu) among others.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment