Home » Past Chief Justices of Nigeria 1914 to 2017

Past Chief Justices of Nigeria 1914 to 2017

by O. S David

Past Chief Justices of Nigeria 1914 to 2017

Today Hon. justice Walter Onnoghen was swear in by Acting President of Nigeria Proffesor Yemi Oshinbajo as the New Chief Justice of the Nigeria and the First Dom the South in 29 years.

Here is the comprehensive list of all the Chief Justice of Nigeria since 1914 till date.

Hon. Justice Edwin Speed, 1914-1918
Hon. Justice Sir Ralph Combe, 1918-1929
Hon. Justice Donald kingdon, 1929-1946
Hon. Justice Sir John Verity, 1946-1954
Hon. Justice Stafford Foster Sutton (Past CJF)
Hon. Justice Adetokunbo Ademola KBE, GCON 1958 –
Hon. Justice Taslim Olawale Elias CFR, GCON 1972 –
Hon. Justice Darnley Arthur Alexander CBE,KCMG,CFR,GCON 1975 –
Hon. Justice Atanda Fatai-Williams CON,GCON 1979 –
Hon. Justice George Sodeinde Sowemimo CON,GCON 1983 –
Hon. Justice Ayo Gabriel lrikefe OFR,CON,GCON 1985 –
Hon. Justice Muhammed Bello CON,GCON 1987 –
Hon. Justice Muhammadu Lawal Uwais CON,GCON 1995 –
Hon. Justice Salisu Modibo Alfa Belgore CON,GCON 2006 –
Hon. Justice Idris Legbo Kutigi CON, GCON 2007 –
Hon. Justice Aloysius Iyorgyer Katsina-Alu CON, GCON 2010 –
Hon. Justice Dahiru Musdapher CON, CFR, FNIALS, GCON 2011 –
Hon. Justice Aloma Mariam Mukhtar JSC, CON, CFR, FNIALS, GCON 2012 –
Hon. Justice Mahmud Mohammed GCON 2014- 2016

Hon. Justice Walter Onnoghen 2017-

Source: supremecourt


Follow us on twitter @dailyfamilyng

See also  Woman Remands In Prison For Attacking Her Husband Over Alleged Infidelity

Related Articles

Leave a Comment