by Oba Samuel
See Those Invited By Buhari For The June 12 Honour's Day.....it will leave you speechless


The June 12, 1993, presidential election is the fairest and freest election in the history of Nigeria but was annulled by the then military junta led by General Ibrahim Babangida. The election was won by the late billionaire-Chief MKO Abiola. The annulment led to lots of struggles among prominent Nigerians and pressure group against the Military. PROMINENT PLAYERS OF THE JUNE 12 STRUGGLE

These people risked their lives until they forced the military back to barracks which paved way for the current democracy.

Prominent among them are:

1.Chief MKO Abiola; Chief Moshood Abiola, the billionaire businessman who contested on the platform of Social Democratic Party (SDP)

He beat his rival Alhaji Bashir Tofa of National Republican Convention (NRC) in his native Kano State with 8,341,309 votes, representing 58.36 percent of total votes.

Abiola declared himself President-elect at Epetedo, Lagos Island. He was later arrested and detained by the Abacha regime. He fought on until he die in detention under Gen. Abdulsalam Abubakar

2.Kudirat Abiola: The fearless wife of Chief MKO Abiola who was murdered  On June 4, 1996, a few days to the third anniversary of the June 12 election  by assassins in Oregun in the course of June 12 struggle.

3.Chief Gani Fawehinmi-  Late Chief Gani Fawehinmi was lawyer and world-acclaimed human rights activist.He was detained for a long period by the military government. He was arrested, detained and incarcerated a total of 32 times. PROMINENT PLAYERS OF THE JUNE 12 STRUGGLE

4.Frank Ovie Kokori-;He was the Secretary-General of the Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers during the June 12 saga.He single-handedly paralysed the country’s economy by instigating workers in the petroleum sector to go on strike.

5.Dr.Kayode Fayemi– This former Governor of Ekiti State was the broadcaster of Radio Kudirat

6.Femi Falana(SAN)-A lawyer and activist who was arrested and incarcerated by the military during the struggle.PROMINENT PLAYERS OF THE JUNE 12 STRUGGLE

7.Chief Abraham Adesanya-The elder statesman, lawyer and former senator, Chief Abraham Adesanya became the leader of Afenifere after the death of Ajasin. He escaped assassination in January, 1997, but Adesanya also miraculously escaped assassin’s bullets.

8.Chief Adekunle Ajasin, former governor of Ondo State, doubled as Afenifere and NADECO leader. He was a principled fighter and moral voice who offered inspiration to the democratic forces

9.Chief Segun Osoba- Assassins were also trailing Aremo Segun Osoba. He escaped being hit by bullets by whiskers.

10.Pa Anthony Enahoro; was one of Nigeria’s foremost pro-democracy activists. He was the chairman of NADECO’s Steering Committee. In 1995, he was detained for almost three months without any charge by Abacha. Before he escaped abroad. PROMINENT PLAYERS OF THE JUNE 12 STRUGGLE

11.Chief Ayo Adebanjo is a fearless politician who does not hide his principled views, no matter whose ox is gored. He was a staunch member of NADECO who has played opposition politics for many decades. Despite the threat to his life and property, he was resolute in the fight for the restoration of Abiola’s mandate.

12.Ayo Opadokun; was the General Secretary of the Afenifere and NADECO. He fought the military for democracy to flourish in Nigeria. For five years, he was in detention.

13.Chief Bola Ige,the Cicero of Esa-Oke, inspired the pro-democracy agitators to fight on. He was a leading fighter under NADECO and Afenifere. PROMINENT PLAYERS OF THE JUNE 12 STRUGGLE

14.Chief Olu Falae ; The former Secretary to the Federal Military Government and Finance Minister was very active in Afenifere and NADECO

15.Olawale Osun;is a former Chief Whip of the House of Representatives. When the IBB regime cancelled the election, he was among the legislators who denounced the criminal act. He was one of the few people that planned the ‘Epetedo Declaration’ for Abiola. When Opadokun was seized by the military, he became NADECO secretary.

16.Clement Nwankwo;


Among the organisations that formed NADECO was the Eastern Mandate Union (EMU) led by the irrepressible advocate of human rights and good governance, Nwankwo. He shared that virtue of consistency and bravery with Dr. Chukwuemeka Ezeife and Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, who were prominent NADECO chieftains

17.Dr. Fredrick Fasehun;a former SDP presidential aspirant, founded the Oodua Peoples Congress to press for the de-annulment of the election. He was one of the founding fathers of NADECO. He was detained for a long time by the military for fighting the cause.

18.Senator Bola Tinubu;

In the Third Republic, he was a senator. In the Upper Chamber, he was the rallying point for senators seeking an end to military rule. He challenged IBB to a duel. When the military leader annulled the poll, he demanded for explanations. Tinubu dared the military, urging the masses to resist the brutal act. He was briefly detained and released. After escaping abroad, he became one of the leaders and financial pillars of NADECO abroad.

19.Late Adebayo Adefarati.

20.Gen. Alani Akinrinade (rtd) was one of the leaders of NADECO abroad, who committed enormous time, energy and resources to the struggle for justice.

21.Pa Alfred Rewane -a successful businessman, a close associate of the late Chief Obafemi Awolowo and a major financier of NADECO in the post-June 12 struggle.Rewane’s residence in Ikeja area of Lagos was the venue of political meetings which led to the formation of NADECO

Human rights leaders

22.Dr Beko Ransom-Kuti,

23.Femi Aborisade,

  1. Chima Ubani

25.Joe Igbokwe,

26.Olisa Agbakoba(SAN)

27.Rev. Fr. Mathew Kukah

Follow us on Facebook – Dailyfamily.ng, Twitter – @DailyfamilyNG and instagram @dailyfamilyng for more updates

Related Articles

Leave a Comment