by Seyi Babalola

Waterfalls are magnificent works of nature. All over the world, they are known to attract visitors for the quiet and sense of purity one becomes filled with. Several of them can be found in Nigeria which include Gurara Falls in Niger state, Farin Ruwa Falls in Nasarawa state, Owu waterfalls in Kwara state, Assop in Plateau, and a host of others. Erin-Ijesha waterfall is popularly known for many things.

Erin Ijesha Waterfall is one of the popular waterfalls in Nigeria. Erin Ijesha is a seven-step waterfall located in the heart of Osun State. It is many beautiful tourist attraction in Nigeria. Erin Ijesha waterfall is located in Southwest Nigeria. The name Erin Ijesha can be loosely translated as the Elephant of Ijesha. At the top of the hill on the seventh floor is the source of the water and the ancient Abake Village. 

The Different Levels at the Waterfalls  

There are seven different levels at Erin Ijesha Waterfalls, the first and the second levels are the easiest. 

The First Level

The First Floor and second floors have a lovely waterfall. The first waterfall is about 20 metres long. It is one of the most beautiful scenes you’d ever see with steady water gushing down from the top of the rock.  

The Second Level

The second floor involves climbing the stairs to an elevated part of the mountain which hosts the second waterfall. It is a little bit hidden which gives it some form of privacy. The water gushing from this waterfall is more compared to the one on the first floor. During rainy seasons, the waterfall on the second floor forms a shallow pool where fun lovers can swim. 

The Third Level

The third floor is one of the most difficult to climb. If you are not an adventurer, your journey would probably end at the second waterfall. The second waterfall at Erin Ijesha is located on the second floor. The third level has no waterfall, it is a rough path with no stairs, you have to find your way through the rubbles using both your hand and legs. Climbing through the ridges is one of the most difficult parts of getting to the third floor. To do a successful climb, you will need to support yourself with the roots and stem of plants to get to the fourth level. The third floor is the most difficult part. It is not a journey for the fainthearted.

Read Also: Shocking! Housewife Pours Hot Water On Husband’s Ex-wife

4th, 5th and 6th Level

The fourth, fifth and sixth floors are not as challenging as the third; you just have to walk through to get to the apex. 

The Seventh Level

The seventh floor is the reward for your tenacity and labour, it serves as a host to an ancient community and it is also the source of the Erin Ijesha waterfall. The village has been in existence almost as far back as the discovery of Olumirin waterfalls. Another motivation is if you successfully make this journey. You would have successfully walked from Osun State to Ekiti State. The Abake village is under Ekiti state.

The seventh floor is the peak; it is one of the most beautiful views ever. The hiking takes between 45 minutes to 2 hours to get to the peak of Erin Ijesha. 

Erin Ijesha waterfalls is a combination of Hills, Valleys, rocks, lush green vegetation and one of the most beautiful waterfalls. The vegetation is preserved like it was since it was first discovered by the princess of Ile Ife. Apart from the stairs and mini bridges that have been added to this place to make climbing easy. Erin Ijesha has maintained its original state for many centuries. 

Kindly follow us on Twitter

Related Articles

Leave a Comment